Testimonials

default image

Remuneration review for South East Water

We recently engaged Nicholas to support our organisation in determining our remuneration position against the market. Nicholas’ professional and thorough approach ensured decision making was based on sound data and analysis. His exceptional understanding of our industry and availability to sound board ideas and approaches was truly appreciated and resulted in a strong outcome for our business. In addition to the excellent work undertaken by Nicholas, he also assisted in connecting us with job evaluation providers to support our approach into the future.

Lara Salembier

People Operations Manager

SOUTH EAST WATER

March 13, 2019

default image

Remuneration Review for Odyssey House Victoria

In 2018 the Board of Odyssey House Victoria asked Nicholas Jackson (Nick) to conduct a Remuneration Review of our Senior Executives and to recommend key remuneration policies and principles that we should adopt.

It had been some time since a Review had been undertaken and over that period the salary adjustments to the Senior Executives had mirrored those made to Award staff through the organisation.  In that time the Budget for Odyssey House had more than doubled and our range of activities had significantly broadened from Residential Rehabilitation, in response to changes in the Alcohol and Drug treatment arena, and in response to new Government policies and programs.

Nick conducted his review in an efficient and timely manner, interviewing the key Executives to understand their responsibilities and the challenges in their roles.  He was able to benchmark salaries in comparable organisations.

He established that significant increases were justified and recommended a set of principles that would enable us to implement the recommended changes over time, that would do justice to the incumbents without imposing unmanageable stresses on our Budget.

A number of the Board members commented that his Report was understandable to people with little knowledge of remuneration issues.  Nick’s recommendations were adopted in full, as were the Principles he recommended to chart our path for the next few years.

Nick’s work was done in a thorough and efficient manner and his advice was unanimously adopted, with both the Board and the Executives comfortable with the outcome.

I would heartily commend Nicholas Jackson for any Remuneration Review and related work, and am happy to elaborate if that would assist.

Bruce C Hartnett AM

Chair

ODYSSEY HOUSE VICTORIA

March 13, 2019

default image

Remuneration review for Melbourne Recital Centre

Following a recommendation from a colleague in the public sector, our remunerations committee engaged Nicholas Jackson to review the current executive structure and attribute work values to each of the executive roles before recommending a remuneration framework. His broad experience and thorough approach has left us in good shape with clear guidelines for annual review and consideration by the committee. He worked with the committee and with me to understand our strategic priorities and objectives before meeting each member of the executive team to understand their roles ahead of researching the market and making his recommendations. He presented his report back to the committee in person. He was open and willing to respond to any queries throughout the review process. His calm manner and clear communication style suited our needs and we would definitely engage him again for a review of this kind.

Euan Murdoch
Melbourne Recital Centre
CEO

March 13, 2019

default image

Skyline was poised for growth but the Board was struggling to understand the implications of this with the current organisational structure. Nicholas was quick to offer his support and crafted an engagement which was inclusive, professional and supportive. He quickly established a strong rapport with staff and Directors, clearly articulated the key issues in a way that the Board could grapple with, and proposed pragmatic and relevant solutions that were embraced by the board. As the Chairman I greatly appreciated Nick’s knowledge of the sector, his ability to synthesise a vast array of inputs and his guidance through the process.

I highly recommend Nick as an expert executive sounding board in Government, Corporate and Not-for-profit contexts and a most supportive champion for change.

Katrina Reynen
SKYLINE EDUCATION FOUNDATION
Chairman

October 24, 2017

default image

I have worked with Nicholas in a classification and salary review for Boroondara’s Local Laws Support Service Officers. This review was undertaken at a time of industrial disharmony within this team and Nicholas, through his professional and experienced approach, was able to provide an outcome that was balanced and thorough. I would recommend Nicholas for future roles in remuneration and classification review processes. He brought a wealth of knowledge that aided in the acceptance of the outcomes.

Trevor Davies
CITY OF BOROONDARA
Team Leader Human Resources & Development

July 10, 2015

default image

I have known and worked with Nick Jackson for well over 10 years. Nick has always been my first call for professional advice on remuneration and personnel issues. His advice and support has always been timely and practical.

He has a good feel for cultural perspectives and their importance in delivering results. I both enjoyed and benefitted personally from his support and advice. I have no hesitation in recommending Nick as a professional Human Resources advisor.

Shane A Breheny
FCPA, FAIM, MAICD
Company Director
Retired CEO of CitiPower and Powercor Australia 2002-13,
Former Chairman of Energy Networks Association of Australia.

January 16, 2014

default image

I have known Nicholas Jackson for over ten years and sought his support and advice on matters relating to executive remuneration and performance pay on many occasions. He has always delivered against my expectations by taking the time to fully understand the nature of each executive job and thoroughly research the relevant remuneration markets. He has also been able to provide real insight into the design of short and long-term incentive plans while paying particular attention to the inter relationship of key roles within the organisation. This was achieved based on his understanding of our role as the owner / operator of the largest open cut coal mine in the Southern hemisphere and the largest Victorian Power Station in the Australian Energy Sector.

Ian Nethercote
Former Chief Executive
LOY YANG POWER

January 15, 2014

default image

We used Jackson Advisory to assist the company with a review and development of a new, well structured sales incentives scheme.  We found Nicholas to be engaging, professional and responsive, and he delivered his work in a timely manner.  His expertise was vital in enabling us to pull together a coherent and effective proposal

John Richardson
General Manager Human Resource
ROYAL AUTOMOBILE CLUB OF VICTORIA (RACV) LIMITED

January 14, 2014

default image

Nicholas Jackson was referred to us by a trusted colleague as someone who was able to assist with an effective, well founded and practical solution. We were provided with an executive remuneration plan that accurately reflected our business priorities and provided a suitable basis on which to reward future performance. We were able to attract an executive with appropriate skills and experience. We found Nicholas to be very professional, and he delivered his work in a timely manner.

Rob Pitcher
Managing Director
DR STRATA MANAGEMENT

December 17, 2013